Snow days and why Panettone bread is the best

I was really thankful to wake up to a snow day today. For those of you who don’t live in Georgia, or the general south, we don’t handle snow well.

Or ice for that matter.

It’s not that we can’t “handle” the snow because we’re weak or or something, it’s simply that it’s so rare here that often we are unprepared or ill equipped. After living in Chicago area for five years, where a patient mid-westerner friend taught me how to drive in the snow, I’ve had to remember that snow plows and salt/sand are not a common occurrence here. I am much more hesitant and fearful to drive here than I ever was in Chicago-land! Having said that, let’s be honest- any day where I am able to work from home in my pjs and drink coffee is a really good day in my opinion!

 

IMG_3337

 

And now onto Panettone bread. If you have never had Panettone bread, get ready for your new favorite bread ever. No. I am not exaggerating (well, maybe a little. maybe.)

If you have had it, you completely understand why I am feeling a need to write an ode to this most amazing bread. Why is it so amazing? Or what is it you ask? Well, let me tell you.

IMG_3339 (2)

 

First of all, Panettone bread is an Italian sweet bread that is usually enjoyed around Christmas and New Year’s.  It is great for breakfast, when I have been indulging in it, but it could be wonderful with afternoon tea as well. While it is not light in calories, I love that has a light texture with chewy raisins, lemon zest, and a few other dried fruits. And, no, it is NOT a fruit cake.

Honestly, I think part of the appeal is also that it is seasonal. Unless you make your own, they typically come in a large box with a ribbon on top so that you can hang it from your Christmas tree to eat Christmas morning or the day after Christmas. I love that it is a special seasonal bread that is also supposed to bring good luck for the new year. I’m a little late in eating mine this year, but it’s still fresh and delicious!

I have been tearing out chunks, as you can see, but, typically, it is served in slices.

IMG_3340

So no ode as of yet, but inspiration has been building! And while, I have a few more breakfasts or desserts left with this year’s Panettone bread, I’m sure I have ample time to write one.

Happy Snow Day!

 

 

 

Leave a comment